Learning Areas

Primary learning includes whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop an inquiring mind and teach basic learning skills needed for schooling and later life.

Literacy and numeracy are the building blocks of learning and that is why English and mathematics take up half of students’ learning time in primary school.

Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on nine learning areas

To find out more information for one of the key learning areas, click on the appropriate area to visit the BOSTES (Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Studies.)

Primary school in NSW follows a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop:

  • Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten
  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6
Latest News
Upcoming Events
  1. 2019 Kindergarten Orientation Morning #2

    21 November @ 9:30 AM - 11:00 AM
  2. Year 6 Luna Park Day: Monday, December 10th

    10 December @ 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  3. LPS Recognition Day Yrs 3-6: Thursday, December 13

    13 December @ 9:30 AM - 12:30 PM